September 2, 2010

The First of Italy 2010

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , , at 10:25 pm by Gina

Hi all,

As previously stated–I’m in Italy. I arrived August 2 with my mom and nonna (grandma) and we had a fabulous time traveling from Rome to Florence, Venice and finally to Milan, with day trips to Pisa, Viareggio and Murano. It was an amazing two weeks and I am very grateful for my good fortune.

I made a video of our time here together which was just my first two weeks (there are many more weeks to come!) There are hundreds of pictures but I tried to narrow it down to some of the best. Hope you enjoy!

Probably the number one thing I’m thankful for is that I was able to go on my dream trip with not only my mom, but also my nonna. She is 78 years old but don’t let that fool you, she can practically run laps around me. One of the strongest women I know, she is who I give credit to for my mindset that created this blog. She had four daughters and it was in this atmosphere that I grew up, watching the women of the family plan events, cook amazing meals, have careers and families and keep our family together. I love family get-togethers and find myself admiring these women every time we have one.

Who are the women you admire? What have you noticed with the women in your family? If there are negative things don’t worry, there are in every family, including mine. The important thing is how we work around the tough stuff. How we help each other, react to situations beyond our control and learn from the women around us. I’ve learned a lot from the women in my life, and I’m glad I was able to learn from them in a totally new and amazing atmosphere.

Buona giornata!
~Gina

2 Comments »

  1. Angela M. said,

    Gina,
    I wanted to let you know that it is awesome and inspiring that you are living out a dream by studying in Italy! You are proof that if you put your mind to something, you can achieve it!

    I wanted to thank you for making me think about my family and the women in it with this post! I am one of four girls, much like your mother and while we drive each other crazy at times, there really is nothing like the bond between sisters. I recently watched the movie “Rachel Getting Married” and it also reminded me of how special, yet complicated this bond can be! I am going to call my sisters now and check in!

    Love ya!
    Ang

    • Thanks Ang!!

      You’ve been so great while I’m here—definitely one of the most encouraging people I know! I’m really enjoying myself and honestly can’t wait to see what happens in the next few months!! I’m so lucky to have gone on this trip but all the work has been worth it so far!

      xoxo


Leave a Reply

