May 25, 2010

My Dream Place To Live Is…

Posted in Uncategorized tagged , , , at 7:00 pm by Gina

HI readers!

This Finish the Sentence Tuesday is not what I was originally planning on asking, but I was much more excited about this sentence than my original so lets go with it!

I am in the final stages of my process to study abroad this Fall 2010. Friday I officially registered for classes and yesterday I secured my financial aid. I will be studying abroad in Florence, Italy from September 1 through December 18th this year. It is absolutely my dream come true- from as far back as I can remember! Countless old journals can be used as proof of my Italy obsession and my dream to not only visit, but stay!

While all this is very exciting, after getting the numbers back on the cost, I couldn’t help but be demoralized. The expense is STAGGERING! I am paying for college on my own, something I am completely understanding of, and loans are truly the only way to make that possible. Next year I will be taking out $25,000 in loans (something I wasn’t sure I should share but thought I’d go for anyway.)

Thus the sentence of the week. Italy is my DREAM place.

Dream- • a cherished aspiration, ambition, or ideal
• an unrealistic or self-deluding fantasy
• a person or thing perceived as wonderful or perfect

Yes, it is all those things!! It is unrealistic to take out that much money (on top of three other years) when I know I won’t make much as a writer. It is also something I perceive as wonderful, perfect, completely ideal. It is my aspiration and I’m going for it! Would you?

Let me know what you think! and don’t forget to finish the sentence! Where is your dream place to live?

Love you all,
Gina

7 Comments »

  1. Amanda Gabrielle said,

    I think it’s amazing of you… if that is even a correct sentence? My dream place to live is… umm.. with you? Ha. I don’t know, I don’t even wanna think about anything past this Friday. But I want lots of pictures & crazy novel length emails about your adventures, yes? Okay :]

  2. Katie said,

    I agree with Amanda! I am so jealous of you because you are going to have such an amazing experience. We are all going to be in debt for the rest of our lives so what does another 15,000 dollars really matter? As for my dream place to live… I would have to say somewhere in Africa (maybe Kenya?). For those of you who don’t know me, I’ve loved elephants since I was a little girl, and I have always dreamed of opening up an African elephant sanctuary. I doubt it will ever happen, but it’s still fun to think about sometimes. :)

  3. Chris Yusko said,

    Katie I have to say your idea sounds so great. There might be a place already out there that you go and work.

    Italy seems like a great place. My mom and sister was there 2 years ago and this year they are going back on a trip from Italy to Spain in June.

    I love that view in the picture. It is like dream picture that is coming true for you. I can’t say much for where I want to live because I don’t really want to just have one place I call home. I was watching PBS today and saw a show with a guy Art Wolfe and I could not believe all the places that he has been to take pictures around the world.

    Amanda, your right lots of cool pictures are wanted from Italy. It would so cool to find a great picture from Italy to draw.

  4. Inspiring post! Enjoy Italy – life is too short! I have never traveled abroad, but would love to. I’m not really sure where my dream place to live is! I’ll have to think about that one.

  5. gina said,

    Yes sweet Gina- GO FOR IT!!!! It is a wonderful opportunity and I am so happy for you. To study abroad in Italy- Wow!!! Don’t worry about the money. You are like a daughter to me and you know what that means..??…You are in my will!! Love you, Aunt Gina xo

  6. [...] in Italia! Posted on October 1, 2010 by becauseiamawoman Years of dreaming, months of planning, days counted down and a 9 hour plane ride later and I finally made it to [...]

  7. [...] Italia! by Gina Mussio Posted on October 4, 2010 by oueduabroad| Leave a comment Years of dreaming, months of planning, days counted down and a nine hour plane ride later, I finally made it to [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

